Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Department für Agrarökonomie

Prof. Dr. Frank Fischer


Foto: Privat


Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Department für Agrarökonomie
Fachgebiet Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik
Philippstraße 13 - Haus 12, Raum 61
D-10115 Berlin

phone: +49 (0)30 2093 46320
fax:     +49 (0)30 2093 46321


Frank Fischer has been until recently Distinguished Professor of Politics and Global Affairs at Rutgers University in the USA. In addition to the Department of Agricultural Policy and Politics at the Institute of Agriculture at the University of Humboldt in Berlin, he is at present research scholar at the Institute of Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam.

He is co-editor of Critical Policy Studies journal and Handbook of Research on Public Policy Series editor for Edward Elgar. In addition to widely lecturing around the world on environmental politics and policy analysis, he has published 17 books and a large number of essays. The books include

  • Citizens, Experts and the Environment (Duke 2000),
  • Reframing Public Policy: Discursive Politics and Deliberative Practices (Oxford 2003),
  • Handbook of Public Policy Analysis: Theory, Politics and Methods, co-edited with Mara Sidney and Gerald Miller (Taylor and Francis 2006),
  • Democracy and Expertise: Reorienting Policy Inquiry (Oxford 2009),
  • The Argumentative Turn Revisited: Public Policy as Communicative Practice, co-edited with Herbert Gottweis (Duke 2012),
  • The Handbook of Critical Policy Studies, co-edited with Douglas Torgerson, Anna Durnova and Michael Orsini (Elgar 2015) and
  • Climate Crisis and the Democratic Prospect (Oxford 2017).

Currently, he is working on both the politics of food democracy and the relationship between post-truth politics and climate denial. In addition to research in the United States and Germany, he has conducted field research in India, Nepal and Thailand on citizen participation and local ecological knowledge. He has also received numerous awards, including the Harold Lasswell Award for contributions to Public Policy Scholarship and the Aaron Wildavsky APSA Award for Enduring Contributions to the Field of Public Policy Studies.